Kin-Fire Week 4 Featured Matches (Nov. 4–5)

League All Champions

Before we head into our fifth and final week of the Kin-Fire arc, we’re having a round of Featured Matches in which factions other than the Freljord and the Shadow Isles will meet on the Fields of Justice.

Timeshift

zilean-classic-splash

12:30 on Saturday/Sunday is a time for sleeping, brunch, and watching cartoons desperately grinding ranked games so that you can prove your proficiency in conducting battles between cartoon characters. For too long, we have disrespected this. I always feel a bit passive aggressive when I have to post “forfeit clock running” in Discord.

And so, per the results from the FM timeshift pollFeatured Matches will now take place at 2:00/3:00/4:00 PM Pacific (5:00/6:00/7:00 PM Eastern) on Saturdays and Sundays. I’m starting the change this weekend.

Schedule of Matches

Match lobbies will open about 15 minutes before the posted start time.

Matches will be streamed at twitch.tv/LeagueFactions. There will be no forfeit mechanism for these matches, since they are after all Melee matches. Instead, any games not played will remain “open”, and the story outcomes determined by the next Melee match played between those two factions.

Saturday, 4 November, 27 CLE

  • Match One: Zaun v. Piltover
    • 2 PM Pacific / 3 PM Mountain / 4 PM Central / 5 PM Eastern
    • Vivatronic Hextech. Piltover’s Clan Ferros seeks to acquire the vivatronic hextech developed by Dr. Gerald Lumos to battle the undead. Kalner Industries, the Zaunite megacorp that initially funded Dr. Lumos but failed a subsequent hostile takeover attempt, now brings suit to compel Dr. Lumos to license (for “reasonable compensation”) the use of his hextech innovations as necessary to combat a general threat to Runeterra: the Harrowing. This would drastically reduce its value to Clan Ferros, and probably nix the acquisition. Piltover’s bewigged barristers and Zaun’s sharp-suited lawyers have each made their case. The matter comes now to the Fields of Justice.
    • Summoner Roster
    • Match Recording
  • Match Two: Bilgewater v. Demacia
    • 3 PM Pacific / 4 PM Mountain / 5 PM Central / 6 PM Eastern
    • Rescued Ship. The Demacian naval vessel Swift Obedience began to sink shortly after departing Nyroth’s principal port of Stormhaven. (The precise cause is yet unclear, but those on board claim to have felt the presence of the Harrowing very strongly.) The ship and her crew were rescued by Marai, and the Swift Obedience made it back to port without the loss of any on board. The Marai then petitioned Demacia for compensation: not only gold, but also some of the artifacts on board, arguing that they could have just let the ship sink and then claimed the salvage. Demacia, wary of releasing magical artifacts to a nation like Bilgewater, as well as chronically short on currency, has opposed these charges as excessive.
    • Summoner Roster
    • Match Recording
  • Match Three: Ionia v. Shurima
    • 4 PM Pacific / 5 PM Mountain / 6 PM Central / 7 PM Eastern
    • Dead Summoner. Ionia has brought suit against Shurima regarding the death of Sosen Tanuma, a Summoner (“xSoupCat111x”) who was traveling through the capital city when he was killed in what Shurima has concluded was a random mugging gone wrong. (The three muggers were all killed when they resisted arrest.) Ionia doubts Shurima’s story, and demands a League inquiry. Shurima opposes this motion, but adds that should an inquiry be conducted, it ought also examine what this Summoner—a frequent associate of Akali and other members of the Kinkou—was doing in the capital city of the Shuriman Empire.
    • Summoner Roster
    • Match Recording

Sunday, 5 November, 27 CLE

  • Match One: Icathia v. Noxus
    • 2 PM Pacific / 3 PM Mountain / 4 PM Central / 5 PM Eastern
    • Icathian Witchcraft. The Noxian High Command has rounded up several mages it accuses of practicing forbidden Icathian witchcraft, and sentenced them to the arena. (Noxus is a fairly open-minded place, but it does not look kindly on those who summon spooky creatures in the Harrowing season, especially when those creatures are of the tentacled variety.) Icathia has intervened on the mages’ behalf.
    • Summoner Roster
    • Match Recording
  • Match Two: Bandle City v. Piltover
    • 3 PM Pacific / 4 PM Mountain / 5 PM Central / 6 PM Eastern
    • Hexcast Relays. Piltover has begun setting up a hexcast relay network that will increase the data throughput of its communications systems. Bandle City objects that these relays generate signal-noise which interferes with their attempts to communicate with the Mothership as it voyages through the stars.
    • Summoner Roster
    • Match Recording
  • Match Three: Bilgewater v. Shurima
    • 4 PM Pacific / 5 PM Mountain / 6 PM Central / 7 PM Eastern
    • Ancient Artifact. Not long ago, the League formally decommissioned The Crystal Scar, as it had fulfilled its purpose by purging arcane fallout from the Kalamanda Incident. However, research into this area continues. A League excavation recently uncovered an ancient artifact in the form of a sealed chest. Member-states of the League squabbling over artifacts is nothing new. What is a bit unusual about this artifact is that it seems to declare its intended recipient. The inscription, loosely translated from an old Shuriman dialect, reads, “To those who stood apart from the Rune Wars”. Bilgewater stepped in at this point, noting that this description applies not only to Shurima, which used elemental fortifications to hold the Magelords and Protectorate at bay, but also to Bilgewater, which was insulated from the Rune Wars by the natural buffer of the oceans. (As for why it matters what the artifact itself says about to whom it is addressed, the answer is approximately one part obscure testamentary jurisprudence and approximately five parts “when dealing with Rune Wars-era artifacts, try not to make them angry.”)
    • Summoner Roster
    • Match Recording

Rosters

We will be using Melee rosters for these matches, with no bans.

—CupcakeTrap

Caitlyn, you monster.

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: