Intermission Tournament II — Draft a Faction

Reddit Thread: (TBA)
Stream: twitch.tv/LeagueFactions
General Information: What’s Factions?

Welcome to Intermission Tournaments, where it’s all made up and the points don’t matter.

The fifth Factions storyline, Hextech Revolution, ended on July 13. We’re now in an intermission period until the next arc starts. Just for fun, we’re going to be running Featured Matches every weekend during Intermission, and by “we”, I mostly mean “Mike and friends”. Each weekend will have a theme.

This week’s theme: faction draft. These matches will be held Saturday July 26 and Sunday July 27. Read on for the complete schedule.

Here’s a quick explanation from 501st Big Mike, who will be running this tournament:

This game mode will be featuring a captain style of organizing, but not in the same way that we have done it in the past. Teams are set to be rainbow, one player from each skill tier, but are subject to a change in skill tiers if an issue arises. As normal we will have player sign ups, but the assembly of the teams is going to be done draft style. From the sign ups, we will select 3 players at random to be team captains. On July 25th (day before the actual matches) the captains and I will meet and begin a draft of the signed up players. Naturally, the captains will need to be online at the time (2:30 pacific, but this time is flexible if it doesn’t work for one of the captains)

The draft will work as follows:

  • Each team will have a slot for a primary player and a sub for each skill tier.
  • Captains will draft one player to their teams per round from the signup list until all positions for all teams are filled.
  • The pick order in the drafting will be determined by drawing names out of a hat. At the start of each new round of drafting the pick order will be reset and determined by drawing names out of a hat once again.
  • After drafting players, the captains will then draft their playable faction for the weekend.
  • Pick order will once again be determined by drawing names out of a hat.
  • Faction choices will be: Demacia, Freljord, Ionia, Noxus, Piltover, Bandle City, Bilgewater, Zaun, Shadow Isles, Shurima, the Void, and Discord (if someone picks the void or shadow isles then the Discord is not available to the other teams and vice versa)
  • The champion rosters for these matches will be the same as the intermission rosters (we are in an intermission after all)

As for the games themselves, the 26th will be 3 games of a round robin between the 3 teams. The 27th will then be a best of 3 finals. In the event of a tie in the round robin, we will have one tie breaker match immediately following the scheduled Saturday games and another tiebreaker immediately before the Sunday finals. Starting time for both days will be 12:30 pacific.

These tournaments are meant to be mostly for fun and have low stakes, so the prize won’t have any effect lore wise or power wise on any of the factions. The prize will be that the players of the winning team will get bonus votes for which factions will appear in the next arc.

Please direct questions to 501st Big Mike.

Sign Up

Big Mike has created the following sign-up forms:

Again, please direct questions to Mike.

Upcoming Events

  • Staff vs. Community: Factions staffers will play against community members using a Faction Draft format.
  • Grudge Matches: A selection of classic rival matchups, such as Noxus vs. Ionia.

The above are subject to change.

Subs

It’s entirely possible that we’ll have some no-shows or otherwise need some gaps filled on the teams. If that happens, we’ll pull from the Factions chat at matchtime. Join the Factions chat:

JoinChatButton-Marked

if you’d like to be considered. In any event, please do tune in to watch! Fun times should be had by all.

Rules

It’s Intermission. Anyone can fight for any side, with no continuing obligation whatsoever.

For Champion lists, we will use the Intermission Rosters.

I’ll set up the tiers based on who signs up. Since it’s an intermission match, if necessary we might run it with slightly uneven teams, though we’ll try to make it a proper mirror match.

Blue/Purple Side are to be decided by a coin toss, or the digital equivalent thereof.

Stakes

Mike has the following to say on stakes:

These tournaments are meant to be mostly for fun and have low stakes, so the prize won’t have any effect lore wise or power wise on any of the factions. The prize will be that the players of the winning team will get bonus votes for which factions will appear in the next arc.

Saturday Schedule (July 26)

Match I — ??? v. ???

Begins at 12:30 Pacific — 1:30 Mountain — 2:30 Central — 3:30 Eastern.

Match II — ??? v. ???

Begins at 1:30 Pacific — 2:30 Mountain — 3:30 Central — 4:30 Eastern.

Match III — ??? v. ???

Begins at 2:30 Pacific — 3:30 Mountain — 4:30 Central — 5:30 Eastern.

Tiebreaker

If necessary, we may have one tiebreaker after Match III on Saturday, and another tiebreaker before the Sunday matches.

Sunday Schedule (July 27)

Tiebreaker

If necessary, there will be a second tiebreaker match beginning at 12:30 Pacific.

Match IV — ??? v. ???

Begins at 1:30 Pacific — 2:30 Mountain — 3:30 Central — 4:30 Eastern.

Match V — ??? v. ???

Begins at 2:30 Pacific — 3:30 Mountain — 4:30 Central — 5:30 Eastern.

Match VI — ??? v. ???

Begins at 3:30 Pacific — 4:30 Mountain — 5:30 Central — 6:30 Eastern.

Caitlyn, you monster.

Posted in Uncategorized
8 comments on “Intermission Tournament II — Draft a Faction
  1. […] Click here for the main tournament post. […]

  2. StormRevolver says:

    i still cant find in there why the undead champions would help the void. and i dont get it why they would have power over the dead. they are chaos not necromancers. and death and undeath are order in a sense. i guess i just miss smthing :'(

    • Wizard996 says:

      Neither the Undead nor the Void have ever been fully accepted by the League (not as nations anyways), Discord seems to be a way to force all of Valoren to accept that the Void and the Isles are sovereign nations, that have the right to declare war, claim territory, and negotiate among other things. They also both follow a kind of ‘spooky’ theme, so it works out when the Isles lack and ADC, and the Void lack a more diverse roster, and the sheer hard-engage the Isles present.

      • CupcakeTrap says:

        I should add: I personally do not think that “Discord” should be on the list of possible factions. They were a one-off thing for the third arc. I’m fine with Void and SI being on the list, and I’d be open to them borrowing a Champion or two from each other as things progress, but I don’t think Discord itself should be available.

        Lorewise, one of the main impacts of the Discord arc was that the Void Champions imprisoned by the League broke free, and took over Icathia, which is now a Void realm.

        The Shadow Isles were recognized as a member state in the second arc, Ceruleana.

    • CupcakeTrap says:

      Discord was a temporary alliance of the Void with certain Shadow Isles Champions. The practical rationale: back then, there was no Vel’koz, and so Void literally couldn’t field a team without some help.

  3. StormRevolver says:

    hmm whats that roster? but this tournament looks realy interesting :) sidenote: why are the undeads bunched up with the void in discord? their goals seems kinda different to me.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: