Intermission Tournament I — Vox Populi, Vox Dei

Reddit Thread: Click here to comment! 
Stream: twitch.tv/LeagueFactions
General Information: What’s Factions?

Welcome to Intermission Tournaments, where it’s all made up and the points don’t matter.

The fifth Factions storyline, Hextech Revolution, ended on July 13. We’re now in an intermission period until the next arc starts. Just for fun, we’re going to be running three Featured Matches every Saturday during Intermission, and by “we”, I mostly mean “Mike and friends”. Each weekend will have a theme.

This week’s theme: the popular kids. We’ve taken the most popular factions from the recent informal survey and lined them up against each other:

  • Match I: Bilgewater v. the Freljord
  • Match II: Ionia v. the Shadow Isles
  • Match III: Noxus v. the Void

(I’ve split Discord up into the Void and the Shadow Isles, because we kind of ran out of frontrunners who weren’t in the previous arc.)

In subsequent weekends, we’ll present the following themes:

  • Faction Draft: Teams will be allowed to select their faction on match day.
  • Staff vs. Community: Factions staffers will play against community members using a Faction Draft format.
  • Grudge Matches: A selection of classic rival matchups, such as Noxus vs. Ionia.

The above are subject to change.

Subs

It’s entirely possible that we’ll have some no-shows or otherwise need some gaps filled on the teams. If that happens, we’ll pull from the Factions chat at matchtime. Join the Factions chat:

JoinChatButton-Marked

if you’d like to be considered. In any event, please do tune in to watch! Fun times should be had by all.

Rules

It’s Intermission. Anyone can fight for any side, with no continuing obligation whatsoever.

For Champion lists, we will use the Intermission Rosters.

I’ll set up the tiers based on who signs up. Since it’s an intermission match, if necessary we might run it with slightly uneven teams, though we’ll try to make it a proper mirror match.

Blue/Purple Side are to be decided by a coin toss, or the digital equivalent thereof.

I’ve assigned minor lore stakes to each match. Please don’t freak out: they’re really just for flavor, though if people find them interesting we might reference them in future arcs or publish a Herald story about it.

Match I — Bilgewater v. the Freljord

Bilgewater_frameFreljord_frame

Bilgewater demands the return of a galleon which crashed on the shore of the Freljord. The tribes have united to claim the treasure-laden galleon, which they say was spying on them.

Begins at 12:30 Pacific — 1:30 Mountain — 2:30 Central — 3:30 Eastern.

Recording here:

Match II — Ionia v. the Shadow Isles

Ionia_frame

Ionia seeks the return of the Onyx Scepter, a sacred Ionian artifact used in funerary rites. Its keeper ventured to the Shadow Isles to commune with the spirits there for the sake of greater cosmic understanding, and ended up a permanent resident under mysterious circumstances.

Begins at 1:30 Pacific — 2:30 Mountain — 3:30 Central — 4:30 Eastern.

Match III — Noxus v. the Void

Noxus_frameVoidSquareBadge

The Voidpocalypse was averted, but Void activity has increased in some of the Noxian territory that was contaminated during Discord. Noxian Champions have joined the legions as they march out to axe them some questions about the infinite darkness beyond.

Begins at 2:30 Pacific — 3:30 Mountain — 4:30 Central — 5:30 Eastern.

Casting and Streaming

We’d like to use these matches as an opportunity for community casting.

Caitlyn, you monster.

Posted in Uncategorized
9 comments on “Intermission Tournament I — Vox Populi, Vox Dei
  1. […] it’s very possible that I’ll have to postpone the rolls until Saturday (perhaps after the tournament?) or even […]

  2. StormRevolver says:

    I want to see a 5 bomb DOOOM match! XD

  3. SonOfTill says:

    Sorry ^^; I didn’t think to copy the edit your response thing

  4. StormRevolver says:

    well only if i had enough champions XD

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: