June 21–22 Tournament Schedule

HextechRevolutionBanner-GeekeeWasTaken2

Storyline: Hextech Revolution
Champion Lists: Factions Rosters
Reddit Threads: Factions Tournament Day One — Factions Tournament Finals
Overseeing Staffer: 501st Big Mike

The first major tournament of the Hextech Revolution storyline will take place this weekend, June 21–22.

Introduction

The terrible spread of the Void’s contamination. Field 14 is the contaminated zone in the west of the Shurima region.

The Dark Sand

The present dispute began with the discovery of “dark sand” (pyrikhos in Shuriman) in the Shurima Desert region. The dark sand is a magical substance remarkable for both its abundant quantity and its peculiar qualities. It was created when the creeping contamination of the Void spread underground from Icathia and interacted with the ambient enchantments of ancient Shuriman ruins. Highly combustible and densely charged with arcane energy, the dark sand has proven extremely versatile as a hextech energy source, and (perhaps most importantly) is sufficiently abundant to allow the large-scale deployment of arcane technologies which until now have been restricted to expensive handcrafted artifacts. While Piltover, Bandle City, and Zaun eagerly devise levitating locomotives, psionic arcano-elixirs, and myriad other transformative technologies, Demacia warns that their greed threatens a world that has only just emerged from a horrific war against the demons of the Void.

Field 14

The League has convened this tournament to resolve the ownership of a field of Void-charged “dark sand” in the western region of the Shurima Desert. Field 14, as it is formally designated, was discovered shortly after the conflict began, at which point the League swiftly declared it off-limits. Although no comprehensive studies have yet taken place, witnesses have observed bizarre apparitions and other phenomena which suggest this pyrikhos has unique properties. Merricurry, the yordle scientist who developed the first comprehensive functional theory of pyrikhos mechanics, has repeatedly petitioned the Council to grant her personal access, but has been denied each time. It is widely believed that the faction which wins control of Field 14 will be in a position to recruit Merricurry herself for their research team.

The Summoner’s Herald has prepared a special pre-tournament report.

Schedule of Matches

This tournament will feature two days of matches, held on Summoner’s Rift. Matches will be streamed on twitch.tv/LoLTourneys and twitch.tv/LeagueFactions.

Saturday, June 11

Recordings (VODs) linked below.

On Saturday, we’ll have six matches, in which each faction will face every other faction once. I have randomly arranged the schedule as follows:

Match I: Piltover’s Porkers vs. Bandle City Beatdown
Begins at 11:30 Pacific — 12:30 Mountain — 1:30 Central — 2:30 Eastern
[VOD]
Casters: BarnabyJ0n3s and LordClifton

Match II: Piltover’s Porkers vs. Demacia, Now and Forever
Begins at 12:30 Pacific — 1:30 Mountain — 2:30 Central — 3:30 Eastern
[VOD]
Casters: BarnabyJ0n3s and LordClifton

Match III: Piltover’s Porkers vs. Zaun Imperium
Begins at 1:30 Pacific — 2:30 Mountain — 3:30 Central — 4:30 Eastern
[VOD]
Casters: BarnabyJ0n3s and LordClifton

Match IV: Bandle City Beatdown vs. Zaun Imperium
Begins at 2:30 Pacific — 3:30 Mountain — 4:30 Central — 5:30 Eastern
[VOD]
Casters: BarnabyJ0n3s and LordClifton

Match V: Demacia, Now and Forever vs. Zaun Imperium
Begins at 3:30 Pacific — 4:30 Mountain — 5:30 Central — 6:30 Eastern
[VOD]
Casters: Sgt Porkchop and Jer

Match VI: Bandle City Beatdown vs. Demacia, Now and Forever
Begins at 4:30 Pacific — 5:30 Mountain — 6:30 Central — 7:30 Eastern
[VOD]
Casters: InsaneDestroyer2 and Kuronan

TIEBREAKER
[VOD]
Casters: Kuronan and Wizard996

End-of-Day Captain Interviews
[Recorded here]
Some bonus content: interviews with the captains of the teams from Day One.

Sunday, June 22

On Sunday, the top two teams from Saturday fight a best-of-three to decide the ultimate winner.

Finals Match I
Begins at 12:30 Pacific — 1:30 Mountain — 2:30 Central — 3:30 Eastern
[VOD]
Casters: BarnabyJ0n3s and CupcakeTrap

Finals Match II
Begins at 1:30 Pacific — 2:30 Mountain — 3:30 Central — 4:30 Eastern
[VOD]
Casters: BarnabyJ0n3s and CupcakeTrap

Finals Match III
Begins at 2:30 Pacific — 3:30 Mountain — 4:30 Central — 5:30 Eastern
[VOD]
Casters: BarnabyJ0n3s and Riot Paddo

Teams

Four teams have come forward to represent their factions in this tournament.

Representing Piltover

Piltover’s Porkers

  • Captain: Sgt Porkchop
  • Summoner 1: Nhan (Sub: FuzzyTigerGuy)
  • Summoner 2: Shaco Bot (Subs: ThatsYummy, TempestEP)
  • Summoner 3: Sgt Porkchop (Sub: Valiant Serpent)
  • Summoner 4: Mixizm (Subs: MrKarato, SuperWeenie, Emomageoflife)
  • Summoner 5: spiderkid500 (Subs: jrob6593, Kjackice, EliteTristann)

Backups: List of Piltovian Summoners who are available for the tournament weekend.
Piltover-Bandle-Alliance-Banner

Representing Bandle City

Bandle City Beatdown

  • Captain: Wrath of Avarice
  • Summoner 1: Sheralino (Sub: Refuse Fate)
  • Summoner 2: Twilight Shroud
  • Summoner 3: Wrath of Avarice (Sub: Ras Doomreaver)
  • Summoner 4: Junpei Tenmyouji (Subs: Fluffycake9  — InsertCleverNckn)
  • Summoner 5: Branden3710 (Sub: The Shaded Blade)

Backups: List of Bandle City Summoners who are available for the tournament weekend.
Piltover-Bandle-Alliance-Banner

Representing Zaun

Zaun Imperium

  • Captain: OrderlyAnarchist
  • Summoner 1: Naggarok
  • Summoner 2: SonOfTill
  • Summoner 3: OrderlyAnarchist
  • Summoner 4: Rahh231
  • Summoner 5: ggpallys

Backups: List of Zaunite Summoners who are available for the tournament weekend.

Representing Demacia

Demacia, Now and Forever

  • Captain: 501st Big Mike
  • Summoner 1: Kaiden
  • Summoner 2: Irelia Bot
  • Summoner 3: Esperone
  • Summoner 4: 501st Big Mike
  • Summoner 5: Taeban (Sub: InsaneDestroyer2)

Backups: List of Demacian Summoners who are available for the tournament weekend.

Stakes

Each match will have a base value of 10 points.

The winner of the tournament will win a new Champion and the support of Merricurry, a brilliant yordle scientist. She will dramatically increase the research capabilities of whichever faction she supports.

The second-place team will win a new Champion.

Storyline Conclusion

Zaun has held a commanding lead for some time. If they win this tournament, then the next tournament will be structured as a “Zaun versus the world” competition; if Zaun wins that second tournament, the arc will immediately end with victory (viktory) for Zaun. Since Zaun is now approaching an instant win, we’re going to start being somewhat harsher on Zaun (and nicer to the other factions), to make sure they really have to work for it.

In any event, this storyline will be coming to a close at 11:59 p.m. on July 31, 2014, so a new storyline can begin.

Caitlyn, you monster.

Posted in Uncategorized
4 comments on “June 21–22 Tournament Schedule
  1. […] Zaun became entitled to by virtue of its commanding performance overall and its victory in the first tournament.) If it doesn’t win, then we count up the BoP and award the arc win to whoever has the […]

  2. […] Here are two very quick polls for Demacia and Zaun respectively, to determine what prizes they’ll pick up after this past weekend’s tournament. […]

  3. CrazedPorcupine says:

    What a surprise that Zaun won. Zaun ALWAYS wins. They have the best roster, as they can counter-pick any gameplay pattern. The only way any other faction could have won this was if it wasn’t an SR tournament.

  4. BlackRose02 says:

    Zaun won the first tournament.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: