Final Tournament

HextechRevolutionBanner-GeekeeWasTaken2

The Hextech Revolution storyline will end on July 13. (See the Hextech Revolution Finale post for more information.) The final event will be a weekend tournament.

Stream: twitch.tv/LeagueFactions
Tournament complete! Recordings will be posted soon.

Tournament: July 12–13

Saturday. Matches will begin at 11:30 Pacific — 12:30 Mountain — 1:30 Central — 2:30 Eastern on Saturday, and run for about 4–5 hours.

Sunday. The final set of matches will begin at 12:30 Pacific — 1:30 Mountain — 2:30 Central — 3:30 Eastern on Sunday, and run for about 4–6 hours.

This tournament will end the arc. We’ll be using premade teams: the first team to assemble itself for each faction will represent that faction. These will be “rainbow” teams, each having space for one Bronze, one Silver, one Gold, one Platinum, and one Diamond/Challenger.

If Zaun wins the tournament, it wins the arc. (This tournament is doubling as the arc ender and the “victory tournament” Zaun became entitled to by virtue of its commanding performance overall and its victory in the first tournament.) If it doesn’t win, then we count up the BoP and award the arc win to whoever has the highest score.

While the “main” tournament will occur on the NA server, if any other region thinks it can put together enough Summoners for a similar tournament on their home server, their admin should let me know. It doesn’t even have to be a full tournament: if you think you can even arrange, say, a set of three mirror matches in which each faction plays against Zaun, that would be fun to watch, and I’d happily grant the matches 10-point base value.

Stream and Chat

The event will be streamed at twitch.tv/LeagueFactions.

Join us in the Factions chat to cheer your team on:
JoinChatButton-Marked
We might need to fill some gaps at the last minute. If so, we’ll look primarily in the Factions chat.

Teams

Each faction will be represented by a single team. Anyone can form a team. The spot goes to the first team to get a roster together for each faction.


Representing the Municipal Republic of Piltover

Piltover

Piltover’s Porkers
Captain: Sgt Porkchop (sub)
Diamond: Nhan
Platinum: Twilight Shroud
Gold: Valiant Serpent
Silver: Mixizm
Bronze: spiderkid500

Substitutes
Diamond Subs: FuzzyTigerGuy
Plat Subs: Shaco Bot, TempestChan
Gold Subs: Sgt Porkchop (Captain), Hunstoppable, Light Ethos,
Silver Subs: KaizFrost, EliteTristann, NoxusFriedQuinn, MrKarato, Guilty As Sin117
Bronze Subs: Alkomon

Sign-Ups
Click here for a list of Summoners who will be available at match-time if someone applies too many belts and falls down the stairs on the way to the match.

HalfyPiltBandleAlliance


Representing the Amicable Enclave of Bandle City

Bandle_city_frame

Bandle City’s Finest Hour
Diamond: Twilight Shroud (Underfilling)
Platinum: Wrath of Avarice (Underfilling)
Gold: Wexiomatic (Captain)
Silver: That Teemo Man
Bronze: Paenitentia

For subs, Summoner Wexiomatic has this to say:

“Please note we will be listing a lot of summoners here, as our team is currently underfilling, and we may need to pull from whoever is around, even if they are not on the sub list. Should certain summoners on this list show up/be available at game time, we may do a lot of on the spot substitutions.”

  • Diamond (Will Use Immediately if Available): Refuse Fate, GreatestEver86
  • Platinum: Thaisun
  • Gold: AbiwonKenabi, Ras Doomweaver, Zeldran, Am I Kawaii, ElJako98
  • Silver: Original Sabral, KexusX, Rurk, InsertCleverNckn
  • Bronze/Unranked: The Shaded Blade

Click here for a list of Summoners who will be available at match time to sub in, should anyone (e.g.) get a tummy-ache from too many cupcakes.

HalfyPiltBandleAlliance


Representing the Teknopolis of Zaun

Zaun_frame

Viktory Lap
Diamond: Naggarok (Captain)
Platinum: SonOfTill
Gold: Necronaught
Silver: Rahh231
Bronze: ggpallys

No subs are listed. Click here for a list of Summoners who will be available at match time to sub in, should anyone (e.g.) overdose on Pharmakon II and require replacement.


Representing the Kingdom of Demacia

Demacia_frameDemacia’s Enforcers
Diamond: Redrex7 (Captain)
Platinum: Millea
Gold: Veloce Visrin
Silver: freebird37
Bronze: Insanedestroyer2

No subs are listed. Click here for a list of Summoners who will be available at match time to sub in, in case one of Demacia’s Enforcers is busy slaying a dragon when match time comes around.


Schedule

This will be a two-day tournament. We’re trying to avoid having too many matches. We’ve come up with a scheme that will most likely generate 8 to 10 matches, or 12 at the most.

Saturday

We open with everyone facing Zaun.

  • Piltover vs. Zaun
    • 11:30 Pacific — 12:30 Mountain — 1:30 Central — 2:30 Eastern
  • Bandle City vs. Zaun
    • 12:30 Pacific — 1:30 Mountain — 2:30 Central — 3:30 Eastern
  • Demacia vs. Zaun
    • 1:30 Pacific — 2:30 Mountain — 3:30 Central — 4:30 Eastern

What happens next depends on how these play out:

  • If Zaun beats everyone: Piltover and Bandle City fight. The winner plays against Demacia. The winner of that match advances with Zaun to the finals. The finals will be a best-of-five.
  • If Zaun goes 2-1: Zaun and whichever faction beat Zaun advances. The finals will be a best-of-five. We’ll have the first match of the best-of-five immediately on Saturday.
  • If Zaun goes 1-2: Zaun and the faction it beat are eliminated. The other two factions advance to the finals. The finals will be a best-of-five. The first match of the best-of-five will happen immediately on Saturday.
  • If Zaun goes 0-3: Round-robin among the other three factions.
    • Piltover vs. Demacia
    • Piltover vs. Bandle City
    • Demacia vs. Bandle City
    • If any faction goes 0-2, then the other two factions advance to the finals.
    • If any faction goes 2-0, then it advances along with whichever faction beat the other.
    • If all three factions go 1-1, then it spills into Sunday. We randomly select two factions for the first match. The loser is eliminated. The remaining two factions then fight a best-of-five.

In any event, the remainder of Saturday’s matches will begin one hour from the start of the Demacia vs. Zaun match.

At most, there will be 6 matches on Saturday. (That would only happen if Zaun lost every match and then the resultant round-robin ended up perfectly inconclusive.) There will be at least 4 matches on Saturday.

Sunday

Because Piltover and Demacia won the first round, they will fight a best-of-five on Sunday. The winner will not necessarily win the arc: the winner will be whichever side has the highest BoP.

Map sides are as indicated below: Blue Side first, Purple Side second.

  • Match One: Piltover v. Demacia
    • 12:30 Pacific — 1:30 Mountain — 2:30 Central — 3:30 Eastern
  • Match Two: Demacia v. Piltover
    • 1:30 Pacific — 2:30 Mountain — 3:30 Central — 4:30 Eastern
  • Match Three: Piltover v. Demacia
    • 2:30 Pacific — 3:30 Mountain — 4:30 Central — 5:30 Eastern
  • Match Four: Demacia v. Piltover
    • 3:30 Pacific — 4:30 Mountain — 5:30 Central — 6:30 Eastern
  • Match Five: Piltover v. Demacia
    •  4:30 Pacific — 5:30 Mountain — 6:30 Central — 7:30 Eastern

Regardless of what happens, we’ll play out the best-of-five, because there are points at stake. Every faction will get 3 weeks of research rolls at the end of the arc, to help make Balance of Power feel impactful even for factions that don’t win the arc.

Stakes

Each match will have a base point value of 10 points. (These matches will be highly significant, in that they will be the last matches scored for the entire arc.) The winner of the tournament will pick up something storywise, no matter who wins the arc.

If Zaun wins the tournament, it wins the arc outright. Otherwise, the arc ends with the tournament, and the faction with the highest BoP standing wins. (We will take a day or so to go through every entry in the scoreboard and make sure it’s correct. Everyone is encouraged to participate: if you see something odd, speak up!)

—CupcakeTrap

GD Thread: The Hextech Revolution — Factions Tournament July 12–13

Caitlyn, you monster.

Posted in Uncategorized
12 comments on “Final Tournament
  1. […] a final tournament was held, in which Demacia did prevail over all […]

  2. […] Click here: https://leaguefactions.net/2014/07/06/final-tournament-get-your-teams-together/ […]

  3. […] the way, Demacia still needs to get its team together for the tournament this weekend. Throw your name in the hat, if you’ll be available, or set up a team yourself and submit it. This is the tournament that ends the Hextech Revolution arc: be part of Factions […]

  4. Companion Prism says:

    Zaun should just freaking win right now. That name man, that name.

  5. Kaenne says:

    Ignore my old submission, I was gold but I just ranked to plat so I resubmitted

  6. Notreadonme says:

    Hi! I signed up but I made a mistake, I work during the first match Saturday and I can’t seem to rectify this situation. I can’t take off work would you mind editing my info?

  7. […] Click here for information on how to sign up to decide the future of Runeterra, and to prevent salt … […]

  8. InsertCleverNicknameHere says:

    So will the winning faction get to choose a new faction to be featured in the next arc?

  9. BlackRose02 says:

    Cupcake, I recall you saying somewhere that the winner of the tournament would receive three research rolls. Is that still applying, or has that been changed, and would the factions get their regular Friday rolls the day before the tournament?

  10. Wizard996 says:

    Zaun will achieve ‘viktory’, not ‘victory’. Just fixing that typo :p

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: